Worst Case Scenario – Daily Prompt

Written in response to today’s Daily Prompt.

“It can’t get any worse,” I have been known to say, Or, “How much do you think I can handle, God?” On occasion, you might even hear my mutter, “I’m done, I can’t take anymore. Just let me be.”  You’d think I’d learn not to continue with this line of thinking, but I guess my stubborn brain just doesn’t work that way.

The last time I informed God that I didn’t think it could get any worse, he handed me a flat tire and a kid with strep throat. That combination is less than ideal, considering it is nearly impossible to get said kid to the doctor without four fully functioning tires on my vehicle. Luckily, a family friend was kind enough to come fix my tire so I could take my child to the doctor. As I was sitting in the doctor’s office waiting for the diagnosis on my daughter, I thought to myself, “why do I keep challenging God in this way?!”

A few years ago, after being bombarded with divorce, a rebound relationship gone bad, financial difficulties, and trouble at work, I made the mistake of asking God how much I could handle. Big mistake. I got sick, forcing me to take unpaid time off from work and receive a written warning from my supervisor. Why, oh why, do I continue to do this to myself?

It also seems that the more I think I am done and want to escape from the world, the more people need me. Just when I think I need a break more than anything, one of my kids has a sports or school event I can’t miss, the house needs some kind of major repair, a friend has a crisis and needs my help, or work becomes more demanding than ever. I always plow through it all like a trooper until I can find the time for myself to relax. Sometimes it take a long time to get there, but I eventually do.

You might be wondering if losing one of my children would be a worse case scenario. Make no mistake, that would be a devastating blow to my entire sense of being, however, it wouldn’t be as bad as losing both my children, or my entire family, and so on. What if I became homeless? That would be bad, but it could be far worse. What if I came down with cancer or another debilitating disease? That, too, would be terrible, but I know I would eventually pull through or find a way to make sure my children were cared for if I couldn’t.

Some people might think I am naive or wear my rose colored glasses when I say these things. Maybe they are right. What I do know, however, is that my strong and resilient attitude has gotten me through some situation I thought would be terrible one way or another. And, I have learned the hard way, that any of those sayings are just a recipe for God to hand me more. No matter what situation I find myself in, there is always something that could be worse. In short, there is no “worst case scenario.”

Leave a Reply

