The Dented Bucket List

I’m sure we’ve all at least heard the term, “bucket list,” even if you are unsure what it means or what to put on it. But, what, exactly, is a “dented bucket list?” While I have my ideas of what it means, I decided to take it to the authority and find an actual definition. Of course, since its pretty much a made-up concept, I had to piece together the definition by breaking the phrase apart. The definition of “dented bucket list” is:

Dent- “A depression in a surface made by pressure or a blow”

Bucket List -“a number of experiences or achievements that a person hopes to have or accomplish during their lifetime”

In piecing the two definitions together, I have written my personal definition of “dented bucket list,” which is, “a number of experiences which would blow.” That’s it, there you have it. Official as can be.

Now, onto the list itself. Things that would dent my bucket…

(* indicates I have already accomplished this dent)

  • Losing a child, in the death sense
  • Losing a child, in the kidnapped and gone forever sense (this scares me more than the death)
  • Rape or other serious crime against me
  • My house burning down
  • My parents dying (I know this will happen eventually, but it will still dent my bucket)
  • Getting divorced *
  • Having a mental illness *
  • Having the love of my life walk on me with absolutely no warning *
  • One of my children having a life threatening illness, like cancer
  • Losing my eye sight
  • Having a child who is sick, but no one can figure out why *
  • A learning disability
  • Having 2 miscarriages *
  • Finding out you had given your heart to someone who didn’t deserve it *
  • Losing my job
  • Losing my home
  • My child getting hit by a car
  • Losing my right to worship how I choose
  • A war on U.S. soil
  • Having to take public transportation everywhere
  • Becoming disabled so that I can no longer take care of myself

I’m sure there are so many more things that could possibly dent my bucket. The good news is, I’m highly resilient, so I’d like to think I’d bounce back from most of these. And for the ones that take longer to recover from, I’m glad I have amazing friends to help me through it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

